St. Patrick's and St. Brigid's College unbeaten champions in Developing Schools Cricket League

St. Patrick's and St. Brigid's College have retained the league title, maintaining their unbeaten run in the competition for the second year running.

In the first match of the season they met rivals St. Columb's College and scored 89 for 4 off 16 overs. St. Columb's College in return could only manage 52 in the allotted overs, St. Patrick's and St. Brigid's winning by 37 runs.

Next came an away match to Fivemiletown College. Here St. Patrick's and St. Brigid's posted a massive score of 155 for 9 from 16 overs. In reply Fivemiletown managed 108 for 9, to give the College a 47 run win. 

Portora Royal in Enniskillen was the next stop for the Claudy boys. Here they scored 128 for 3 in 20 overs and Potora Royal in reply scored just 80, leaving Claudy 48 run winners.

The last two games of the league took place on Friday 18th June where St. Patrick's and St. Brigid's faced Oakgrove College and Omagh Academy.

Oakgrove won the toss and put St. Patrick's and St. Brigid's into bat where they made 109 runs for 3 wickets off the 20 overs. Oakgrove in reply were 74 all out - a 35 runs win.

Omagh Academy took to the crease on the afternoon of the 18th and could only make 39 for 5 in the 16 overs. St. Patrick's and St. Brigid's overtook this total within 7 overs and were crowned league champions.

There were some outstanding batting performances from Peter Harrigan, Ryan Brolly and Gerard Storey.

Shane Murray and Shaun Cooke were both brilliant in their bowling roles and took many wickets overall.

New pupils to the game included Declan OíHara, Ross Stevenson, Cathaoir, Odhran Crumley and Sean Coyle. All showed tremendous potential for the future of the team. Well done to St Patrickís & St Brigidís College, Claudy.