There was more pain on the road for NCU sides as two of their great white hopes crashed out in contrasting styles in Dublin.

CIYMS lost a high scoring thriller against Merrion despite being strong favourites in their run chase.

Tyrone Kane top scored for Merrion with 73 as they piled up 271 - the real impetus came from a pair of ex Irish internationals though as Dom Joyce made a run a ball 39 and Dave Langford-Smith biffed 4 sixes and 4 fours in a 22 ball 47.

Johnny Thompson's prolific start to the season continued as he took 5 for 47. Half centuries from Chris Dougherty (53) and John Matchett (55) put the visitors well on top at 119-1, despite the early loss of professional Rassie van der Dussen.

Nigel Jones (43), Alan Johnston (33) and Johnny Thompson (37) all looked as if they would steer their team home, but with the rate increasing wickets fell and they fell 13 runs short. John Anderson's 2 for 9 in four overs proved crucial in the closing stages.

It was a similar tale of woe for Instonians who went down disappointingly and in truth rather tamely to Malahide. Felix Page and Reinhardt Strydom hit half centuries as Malahide posted 246 for 9 - that was to prove 79 too many for the Shaw's Bridge side.

They were dismissed for 167, with Ryan Nurse top scoring with 38. Callum Riches and Cayman Islander Alessandro Morris claimed three wickets apiece for the 2002 winners.

Strabane coasted to a seven wicket win at home to Railway despite conceding 49 extras as the Dubliners made just 131. Peter Gillespie hit an unbeaten 47 and Ryan Gallagher 30 not out as they added an unbroken 68 for the 4th wicket.

Co. Galway benefitted from an appearance by Terenure professional Ben Speake whose undefeated 87 saw them cruise into the next round making light of a DL adjusted chase of 175 to win by seven wickets.

 Mattie Clarke (56) and Brian Allen (47) top scored for Fox Lodge in their total of 210.

The revised draw is now as follows with ties being played on June 6

  • Clontarf v  Strabane
  • County Galway  v Waringstown
  • Malahide v The Hills
  • Leinster v Muckamore
  • Lisburn v CSNI
  • North County v Bready
  • Pembroke v Ardmore
  • YMCA v Merrion