The 2016 Munster Cricket Union AGM took place on Sunday, 17th January, at the Rochestown Park Hotel which saw a review of the cricketing activities at all levels throughout the province both on and off the pitch.

The outgoing Chairman, Peter Dineen, began proceedings with review of the season just gone and his tenure as MCU Chairman. John Ketch then gave his Secretary's report which was then followed by a review of cricketing activites from the Cricket Committee Chairman, Ger O'Sullivan. The outgoing President, David Griffin, then gave his customary annual address before handing the chains of office to Michael Hickey.

Chris Thomas then reported on Youth activities both locally and at interprovincial level which included the significant achievement by the Munster U15's who were crowned Champions of Leinster League U15b. The Regional Development Officer, Jim Doran, then presented a review of his extensive work throughout the Union with a focus on growing the game and increasing participation in Primary Schools in the region.

Following the lunch break, the Unions PRO, Robert Duggan, then gave a presentation on proposals to redesign and develop a bespoke website to bring the Union into line with the stated aims in its Strategic Plan. His presentation also included proposals to rebrand the existing crest and image.

The election of officers for the 2016 season saw the following individuals appointed to the Executive Committee:

President - Michael Hickey
Chairperson - David Griffin
Honorary Secretary - John Ketch
Hon Treasurer - Bryan O’Donnell

Ordinary Members:
Gerard O’Sullivan (Chair of Cricket Committee)
Chris Thomas (Youth Co-Ordinator)
Kuros Mohammadi
Robert Duggan (PRO)
Ted Williamson (Coaching)

A vacancy still remains on the Executive which will be filled at the next meeting on 10th February.