It was a repeat of the last World Cricket League Division Three final today in Kuala Lumpur. And the winning team was the same as Nepal beat Uganda to lift their second consecutive WCL3 title.

Batting first after winning the toss, Nepal started superbly as Sagar Pun and Naresh Budayair put on 107 for the opening wicket before Budayair was out for 51. Pun was the next man out, having scored 64, whilst number three Gyanendra Malla also made a half-century with 56.

Beyond that top three though, there wasn't much to write home about for Nepal's batting. From 181-3 they were bowled out for 223 as Roger Mukasa tore through the rest of the line-up, taking 6-27 in 3.5 overs.

Fortunately for Nepal, Uganda's batting line-up wasn't up to task. Roger Mukasa retired hurt early on in their innings, only coming back at the fall of the fifth wicket. At that point the score was 92, so his innings of 51 was unable to have much influence on the outcome of the match.

Uganda were bowled out for 161 to lose by 62 runs. Bhuvan Karki was the pick of the Nepal bowlers with 4-39.

Both teams will now be preparing for WCL Division Two in Namibia in January, where they will come up against Canada, Kenya and the Netherlands in addition to the hosts. Nepal though have the more immediate concerns of a tour to Sri Lanka where they will play two three-day matches against a Sri Lanka Board XI in addition to a three match T20I series and one-day game against Hong Kong.

The other matches today saw Malaysia beat Singapore by 7 wickets in the third place play-off thanks to 101 from Suhan Alagaratnam, whilst the USA hammered Bermuda by 10 wickets with Adil Bhatti and Fahad Babar scoring 52 and 63 respectively.


Nepal beat Uganda by 62 runs
Kinrara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur, 30 October
Nepal 223 (49.5 overs, Sagar Pun 64, G Malla 56, N Budayair 51, R Mukasa 6-27)
Uganda 161 (44.1 overs, R Mukasa 51, B Karki 4-39)

Malaysia beat Singapore by 7 wickets
Bayumas Oval, Selangor, 30 October
Singapore 169 (48 overs, C Janik 63, Pavandeep Singh 3-43)
Malaysia 172-3 (32.3 overs, Suhan Alagaratnam 101, Ahmed Fiaz 46)

USA beat Bermuda by 10 wickets
Selangor Turf Club, Kuala Lumpur, 30 October
Bermuda 113 (19.3 overs, Adil Bhatti 3-29, Usman Shuja 3-30)
USA 118-0 (15.2 overs, Adil Bhatti 52*, Fahad Babar 63*)