THE Irish Universities side to play Cambridge University and Scottish Universities at Fennerís next week has been announced.

The strong squad includes Ireland A player Barry McCarthy, Ireland Under 19s Peter Chase, Tyrone Kane, Bobbo Forrest and Jordan McClurkin and several senior club players.

New Irish Universities champions UCC are represented by Anthony OíReilly who scored a memorable century in the final against UU, and semi-final centurion Junaid Khan.

  • Andrew Magee (UU)
  • Junaid Amin (UCC)
  • Anthony O'Reilly (UCC)
  • Ryan Hopkins (DCU)
  • Peter Chase (DCU)
  • Robert Forrest (DCU)+
  • Rachit Gaur (ITC)
  • Will von Behr (DUCC)
  • Hugh Pike (DUCC)
  • Barry McCarthy (UCD)
  • Tyrone Kane (UCD)
  • Jordan McClurkin (QUB)+
  •  Reserves Dhruv Kapoor (DUCC) Richard McCarthy (UU)

The Irish side will play Cambridge University and Scottish Universities in a triangular tournament of 50 overs games.

It is a welcome development for universities cricket, which has seen a huge increase in activity over the past decade.

The Cambridge tournament takes place at Fennerís, with the opening game between the hosts and Scottish Universities Monday. Ireland play the Scots on Tuesday, and finish against Cambridge University on Wednesday.

The IUCA was founded in 1973 and has since run an annual intervarsities tournament, this year - the 40th of the tournament - the Trevor West Trophy was won by UCC.

Ireland competed in the British Universities Sports Federation tournament for several seasons, running out winners in 1988 and 1990, which were the first international cricket trophies won by an Irish side.