George Dockrell and Andrew Balbirnie have been named in a very strong Leinster Lightning squad for their clash with NW Warriors at The Hills this weekend.

Dockrell and Balbirnie have been given permission by Somerset and Middlesex to play in the fixture, adding further quality to an already strong line-up.

No fewer than ten of the twelve named have senior international caps - the only two who haven't worn the shamrock at senior level are Railway Union's overseas professional Pat Collins and former Ireland Under 19 star Tyrone Kane. 

Australian top order batsman Collins  is eligible to play in the game by virtue of his Irish passport.

The 50 over competition was the only one not won by Leinster Lightning in 2013 - their surprise final day defeat by the Warriors handed the title to Northern Knights.

The composition of this squad show that Lightning Coach Trent Johnston means business and will be aiming for a clean sweep of trophies this time around.


  • John Mooney (Capt-North County)
  • John Anderson (Vice- Cpt-Merrion)
  • Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex/Pembroke)
  • Pat Collins (Railway Union)
  • Alex Cusack (Clontarf)
  • George Dockrell (Somerset)
  • Tyrone Kane (Merrion)
  • Fintan McAllister (Malahide)
  • Kevin O’Brien (Railway Union)
  • Andrew Poynter (Clontarf)
  • Eddie Richardson (North County)
  • Max Sorensen (The Hills)