CricketEurope ◊ Ireland ◊ Isle of Man ◊ Jersey ◊ Netherlands ◊ Scotland ◊ MOBILE    Facebook Twitter  
Isle of Man Cricket Association emblem CricketEurope logo
The Isle of Man Cricket Association

The Isle of Man lies in the Irish Sea, between England, Scotland, Ireland and Wales and is less than 60 miles west of the Lancashire coastline. It is easy to get to thanks to excellent air and sea services It is 33 miles long, 13 miles wide and covers an area of 227 square miles. More than 40% of the Island is uninhabited. The population of the island is approximately 80,000 a significant majority of whom live in and around the Island’s capital, Douglas. The Island’s flag features “The Three Legs of Man” which is the Island's symbol of Independence. While there is much local argument about which way the legs run (officially it is clockwise), the symbol's meaning is undisputed: Quocunque Jeceris Stabit - 'Whichever way you throw me I stand'

Although cricket has been played by various clubs on the island since late in the 19th century, the Isle of Man Cricket Club was eventually formed in April 1930. The word “Club” was in time swapped for “Association”. Many years affiliation to Lancashire County Cricket Board was eventually replaced by full international recognition in July 2004 when the Isle of Man Cricket Association were elected as the 90th member of the International Cricket Council (ICC). Cricket is now one of the country’s main summer sports, having in 2008 been granted Key Community Sport status by the Government body Manx Sport and Recreation. This helped enable the IOMCA to take a great stride forward in the development of the sport by appointing its first full time Development Officer in summer 2008.

Isle of Man compete in ECC competitions, having so far participated at Senior, Under 19, Under 17 and Under 15 levels.

Statistics :-

Membership of The IOMCA comprises 11 clubs (Castletown, Cronkbourne, Crosby, Finch Hill, Grasshoppers, Peel & St John's, Ramsey, Ronaldsway, Union Mills and Valkyres)

Players registered total approximately 700 (senior and junior)

Cricket grounds:

  • Castletown - King William's College & Ronaldsway
  • Douglas - Tromode, Ballafletcher
  • Jurby - Jurby Airfield
  • Ramsey - Ramsey Grammar School
  • St John's - Mullen-Y-Cloie
  • Peel - Queen Elizabeth 2 High School
  • Crosby - Marown Memorial Grounds
  • Union Mills - Ballaoates

© Isle of Man Cricket Association & CricketEurope
Standard Chartered Bank